Observations from Hackney Downs

 

The complex relationships people have with the spaces their inhabit are part of my personal journey. On the one hand, my acute sense of home and belonging stems from being an immigrant and having moved many times. On the other hand, I have undergone many knee surgeries since the age of 19 having to learn to walk each time. ‘Observations from Hackney Downs’ deals with my latest recovery cycle to develop personal resilience while recuperating from the recent hip surgery. It addresses the somatic impact of silence and repressed family history on my body that I have been researching prompted by my project Fragments of Memory. 

March 2018

Hackney has been my home for nearly 15 years. I find it comforting to discover the overlooked and undervalued. In the noughties I lived in Hackney Wick and Dalston before the big changes happened. Since 2012 I have been researching the Chats Palace visual archiveLast Christmas I moved to a ground floor flat overlooking Hackney Downs Park to recuperate after a major hip surgery. On New Year’s Eve, I set myself a daily Instagram challenge – #recovery #dayX #hackneydowns #crutches. Life on crutches slows you down, lets you be in sink with your body and the surrounding. I haven’t missed a day be it sunny, rainy or icy. There have been setbacks – slower than expected healing of the bones, nasty sprains and strains, but the challenge ‘one photo a day’ kept me going.

At the end of February came the Beast from the East. Snow means home for me – I grew up without seeing grass for 6 months, feeling snow on my skin and under my feet. So, the home of my childhood and the home of my adulthood merged while I was researching the somatic impact of silence, repressed family history and migration on my body and life choices. 

Recovery milestones, hospital appointments, physiotherapy sessions, government support – all is measured in weeks. Hence the output idea – 10 weeks in 70 images that reflect the weather conditions, the small details, the trees of Hackney Downs.